Leaving Cali Behind

For the next 10 months I will be in Nymburk, Czech Republic. Nymburk is located about 45 minutes outside of Prague where I studied abroad my junior year. I will be an assistant English teacher to kids ages 11-19. In addition, I will be helping out with teaching them basketball. Nymburk is a pretty big basketball town because it is home to the Czech men’s basketball team ČEZ Basketball Nymburk who also happen to be the defending champion of the NBL (National Basketball League) 8 years in a row.

I leave for Chicago tomorrow for one last US trip before I leave for Prague. For the most part I am packed and ready to go. This time around I have everything I need and room to spare. Going someplace new is always exciting, but going someplace that I’ve been before is somewhat comforting. I am excited for my upcoming year but I really don’t know what to expect. I’ve never taught English in a country with a language that dislikes vowels. I’ve never had “teach basketball” written in my job description. I’ve never been far away from a home cooked meal or a 5C dining hall and I’ve never been away from my family for 10 months. However, there is a first time for everything and I am excited to see what this new chapter in my life brings.

