Student Time

Last Friday, I got to go to a really special event for my oldest students. When a student is in their senior year (here they call it Maturita) the whole school/town is informed. Each student receives a special ribbon that shows that they are in their final year and they invite their favorite teachers to the ceremony. They invited me so I got to partake in the festivities. It was really nice to talk to the students, see their baby photos, and play games. Afterwards they wanted me to come to their after party at the town’s one and only club. As soon as I walked in I saw my whole team there. I told them I couldn’t go to practice because I was busy so they were really surprised to see me. Well some things are more important that practice and this event was one of them! I had to leave Havana because in the Czech Republic its legal to smoke in the pubs so for non-smokers its very irritating. Sometimes they limit the smoking to just one section but like my Czech teacher says “that’s like telling kids they can only pee in one corner of the pool.” When I left I ran into a group of my students who were trying to convince the janitor (who had been at the party) to open up the school gym so that they could continue the festivities.

Getting their ribbons

The graduating class with their favorite teachers.

Yesterday, I went to see Twilight with a some of the girls from my PE class. Now anyone who know me knows I have always been #teamharrypotter but Twilight wasn’t half bad. I have only seen the first movie and haven’t read any of the books so I was a litttle confused (when did Bella start hunting lions?) but I thought the movie had some cool elements to it. I especially liked how they added a multicultural aspect to the film by having vampires from all over the world. Vampires kinda have it going on. I think the best part was hanging out with my students. We talked about everything including, Czech/American customs, guilty pleasures (16 and Pregnant, Vampire diary), education, and sports. I am glad they invited me because it is these experiences that make Fulbright such a special opportunity.

The Amazon vampires..might be my next halloween costume!

Yesterday, I went to a professional basketball game with some of the boys I teach. It was nice because they play basketball too so we had a lot to talk about. They also love the Lakers and Kobe so no problems there. The Nymburk basketball team is undefeated in their league so their games aren’t that exciting to watch. However, last night they played a team from Slovakia and it was very exciting. The other team won with a buzzer beater. Not the outcome we were hoping for, but a good game nonetheless. Even though the boys are 16/17/18 they are really mature for their age. Same with the girls from Twilight. Not to mention their english is really good which makes communicating really easy.

At the basketball game w/ my students.

On a different note, my sleep schedule is all off – partly because I been working on grad school stuff, but partly because every morning I get woken up by crows. Actually, I don’t know what type of birds they are but six o’clock in the morning is way too early to be feeling like I’m in a Hitchcock movie. I’m also getting sick for the first time this year which is unfortunate because this week in Thanksgiving so I will go to Prague with my Fulbright friends to celebrate. I can’t believe its been 3 months already. Time is going by so fast. In a months time my sister will be here. I can’t wait to see her!!!

The birds that wake me up every morning.

