Asha, where have you been?

I’ve been to an Artmosphere Concert.

Image

On stage with Artmosphere

For the last few months I have been helping a Czech band translate songs into English. In March I got to see them in concert and it was the first time in my life that a band dedicated a song to me. Normally I’m not really a rock type of girl but they have really good and mellow music. If you’re interested you can get their album here. At the concert, I also got a free Postřižiny (Nymburk’s beer) stein!

Image

My baby Postřižiny mug.

I’ve been skiing with our English exchange students. 

IMG_2259

All ready to hit the slopes!

Last month we had visitors from our sister school in England. We took them our school’s cabin in Rokynice and taught them how to ski. Last time I only tried downhill skiing so I was glad to have an opportunity to try cross-country skiing. At first I was a little nervous that I wouldn’t remember how to ski, but everything worked out great. The whole weekend I didn’t fall down once! Apart from skiing, I also really enjoyed meeting and hanging out with the other English speakers and having my meals cooked for me! When we returned to Nymburk, all the teachers had a party in which we drank homemade wine from one of my coworker’s vineyard. Needless to say work the next day was rough.

Image

Me with my coworkers, students, and our English visitors.

I’ve experienced Czech Easter.

On Easter, Czech men visit women in their village and sing traditional folk songs while spanking them with a willow stick called a pomlázka. Legend says that a woman who is whipped will be healthy and maintain their beauty during the year. In return, girls are supposed to give their guests liquor, eggs, food, or money. Oh how I love Czech traditions.

Willow stick and decorated eggs.

Willow stick and decorated eggs.

I’ve spent 5 hours at Ikea.

Found my future bed at last!

Found my future bed at last!

I love Ikea. I spent a very enjoyable afternoon with Miriam and Grace, planning out my future apartment. Anyone who knows me knows that I really like interior design so this was a really fun field trip. After a day of Swedish meatballs, mattress testing, and color scheming, we had some excellent Pad Thai at Lemon Leaf, my favorite Thai restaurant in Prague. We finished the nights with a few cocktails. New York here we come!

Drinking a cosmopolitan. I'll pass on that bloody mary.

Drinking a cosmopolitan. I’ll pass on that bloody mary.

I’ve learn how to make the most perfect gulas.

I absolutely love gulas. It is one of the thing that I will miss most about the Czech Republic. Thankfully, some of my students gave me very precise directions on how to cook gulas at home and it turned out wonderful. So wonderful in fact that I proceeded to eat gulas for the next 4 days. Definitely a new staple. I can’t wait to cook it for my family back home!

Gulas, dumplings, and sauerkraut. Yum.

Gulas, dumplings, and sauerkraut. Yum.

I’ve been ambushed by my oldest students.

IMG_2672

My students dressed in funny costumes on their last day of school.

The oldest students finish school two months early so that they have time to study for their final exams. On their last day of school they dress in funny costumes and play pranks on the other students. They put lipstick on their faces, spray them with terrible smelling perfume, and douse them in glitter. The teachers are supposed to be exempt from such treatment. Yeah right.

Lipstick on my face, foul perfume on my favorite (dry clean only) jacket, and glitter in my hair. Thankkkks.

Lipstick on my face, foul perfume on my favorite (dry clean only) jacket, and glitter in my hair. Thankkkks.

I’ve been to a 60’s themed ball for PE teachers in Plzen

The PE teachers performed a variety of activities during the ball including indoor skiing, gymnastic rings, and nuclear war drills?

The PE teachers performed a variety of activities during the ball including indoor skiing, gymnastic rings, and nuclear war drills?

A bunch of us went to Plzen this weekend to celebrate Miriams birthday (and my early birthday). We went to a 60’s themed ball for PE teachers which turned out to be pretty crazy. I always enjoy spending time with the girls because we talk about everything including our animal personalities (I guess I’m a gazelle or a leopard or zebra) and the ignorant people in this world who think that Chechnya = Czech Republic. In face of all the recent tragedy in the US, it was nice to be with other Americans.

So 60’s with my afro pouf and houndstooth.

I’ve been really busy these last few months. It’s hard to believe that I only have two more months to go. I’m so excited that the weather has finally started to act right. Just in time for my birthday :]

