Welcome to London

A few weeks ago I took my last international trip. I went back to an old favorite – London. Something about that city  makes me so happy. After living in a non-English speaking country for the last 9 months, it’s very refreshing to be able to go out and understand almost everything. The things that I don’t understand tend to be cultural differences, which are always fun. Although the plane ride to London only lasted about  2 hours, it took a considerable amount of time getting both to and from  the airports in Prague and London. However, I still managed to spend an entire 4 days hanging out with friends, eating fish and chips, seeing the famous sights, and most importantly eating Chipotle.

IMG_2948

Fish and Chips + The Godfather = The Codfather, two of my favorite things combined into one!

IMG_2953

Riding around the city in a hackney (aka black cab). We were on our way to a Maritime party in which there where people dressed up as lobsters and zebra – fishes.

IMG_2882

Chicken chipotle burrito. So good. The line at Chipotle was literally out the door and around the corner so it took a good 1/2 hour to get my food but it was worth it.

IMG_2884

Hey Gabe! Fancy seeing you here! Gabe was visiting his younger brother so we met up for a quick bite to eat.

IMG_2940

Chipotle was on Baker Street so I headed over to 221b Baker Street to check out Sherlock Holmes’ place.

IMG_2929

Mind the Gap! This reminds me so much of watching “Keeping up Appearances” on the BBC as a child (we didn’t have cable).

IMG_2925

Platform 9 3/4 at Kings Cross Station! I owe so much to Harry Potter, he is my past, present and future :]

IMG_2917

Tower of London Bridge looking so pretty in my favorite color. I love the history of this place.

DSC02711

Piccadilly Circus, looks like Queen Elizabeth II is at home! Also, I love the word Piccadilly, especially when it’s said with an English accent.

IMG_2905

The Eye of London and Westminster Abbey from the bus because I was not about to pay 20 pounds for a ferris wheel, especially since the weather was so horrible.

IMG_2919

Deaf blind people? Didn’t understand this sign, must be a cultural thing.

IMG_2881

New and old friends at the dance club. Playing all the hits from Kanye to Jay-Z to Beyonce. I felt just like the Great Gatsby movie!

Every time that I have been to London I’ve gone alone, but I always seem to make wonderful memories with the people I meet. I think that London will always have a special place in my heart and I can’t wait for my next visit.

